Bude’s Ellie Turner and Ruebyn Ash win 2019 Night Surf Presented by Fistral Beach Surf School & Hire

Tuesday, 18 June 2019

2019 Night Surf Presented by Fistral Beach Surf School & Hire

The infamous Night Surf Event, first stop on the UK Surf Tour took place at Fistral Beach on the 7 – 8 June. The competition was greeted by storm Miguel, which brought strong winds and big surf. Fortunately the weather eased for Saturday and spectators were treated to amazing surfing from the elite of British surfing.  

The Night Surf is one of the few night time surf events around the globe and sees the UK’s top surfers battle it out under giant floodlights from the beach. Surfers battle it out in the floodlit arena to be championed champion of the Night Surf presented by Fistral Beach Surf School and Hire.

Night surf awards-44

Day one of the competition saw crowds gather at Fistral Beach for the preliminary rounds of the Juniors, Men’s Open and Women’s Open. The level of surfing continued to grow, with stand-out performances from Lucy Campbell in the female divisions and Jay Quinn from the Men’s open. In the juniors, Lauren Sandland and Lukas Skinner were shinning and showing the potential in young British surfing.

NIght surf 2019 day 1-7

Day two saw Round 2 of the event through to the finals take place with tenacious surfing from the competing surfers. Each surfer fought tooth and nail to make it through the rounds. The biggest shock of the event was seeing European Champion Jay Quinn knocked out in round 2. Returning legend Russell Winter returned to competition and showed why he is still one of the all-time best European surfers.

 In the Women’s final it was extremely close between Ellie Turner and Peony Knight. Peony dropped the highest scoring single wave, but it wasn’t enough to beat Ellie. Third place went to 2018 UKPSA Champion Emily Currie and fourth, future surf star Lauren Sandland.

Night surf final edit-180

 The men’s final was dominated by Bude’s Ruebyn Ash, current UKPSA Champion. Second went to Jayce Robinson, returning to competition after a year out. Third Joss Ash and fourth British Surf legend Russell Winter

Night surf final edit-184

The Junior divisions showed the future talent the UK has to offer. Stan Norman won the U18 Boys, Lukas Skinner the U14 Boys. Lauren Sandland not only made the women’s final but took out the Under 18 Girls and Under 14 Girls – definitely one to watch for the future!

Once the competition came to a close it was time for the presentation where the champions were crowned, fresh out of the water. Thank you’s need to go to our sponsors Fistral Beach Surf School and Hire, Fistral Beach Bar, Korev Lager, Boardmasters Foundation and Newquay BID

Night surf final edit-139

Jenny Briant, Fistral Beach Surf School, Manager said “The 2019 Night Surf was an incredible event to be involved with. Surfer’s in every category put on amazing performances in front of the supporters at the Beach.”

The fireworks didn’t make it on to the billing this year due to the weather, but that didn’t dampen the spirits of the spectators who were treated to top class surfing and for the first time a skate competition hosted by Mount Hawke Skate Park. This year’s Night Surf also saw the start our new environmental campaign ‘Clean Breaks’ with the support of Oltco and their Recycle Bound® product.


U14 Girls                                                  U 14 Boys

1 Lauren Sandland                                     1 Lucas Skinner

2 Belle Betteridge                                       2 Fynn Gillespie

3 Tegan Blackford                                      3 Otis Perry

4 Megan Webb                                           4 Eli Perrin Davies


U18 Girls                                                  U18 Boys

1 Lauren Sandland                                     1  Stanley Norman

2 Alys Barton                                             2 Noah Capps

3 Fransesca Sayer                                     3  Barnaby Cox

4 Lily Mandeville                                          4  Lukas Skinner


Women’s                                                   Men’s

1 Ellie Turner                                             1 Ruebyn Ash

2 Peony Knight                                            2 Jayce Robinson

3 Emily Currie                                              3 Joss Ash

4 Lauren Sandland                                     4 Russell Winter

Photos: Andy Holter/Night Surf 2019

Video: Mr B Productions