Incredible Opening year for Nerf Clash of The Groms Series

Wednesday, 6 December 2017

Junior talents on the UK’s professional surfing circuit, the UK Pro Surf Tour were treated this year to a whole new level of competition as Nerf presented the opening year of the “Clash of The Groms” Series;
master-minded by UKPSA Director & tour manager Dave Reed and son Tom Reed, the COTG series runs inclusively within the UK Pro Surf Tour allowing new locations to be opened up for the young competitors and seeks to help nurture regional surfing talent throughout the UK at any early level, giving entry to 30 sponsor/regional wildcards within its tour.

5 surfing breaks were included in this year’s Nerf COTG series starting with Watergate Bay for the Personnel Solutions Surfaced Pro, an event pioneered, organised and delivered by students from Cornwall College Newquay’s Surf Science & Technology & Marine Sports Science Degree programs, The UK Schools Surf Championships presented by Treviglas Community College which saw over 37 school teams entered this year. The grom competitors then headed to the incredible shoreline of the Scottish Highlands for the Thurso Surf Festival surfing at Dunnet Head, & Melvich Point before hitting a wicked left-hand reef break at Sandside before returning to the UKPSA home break of Fistral Beach, Newquay for the Quiksilver & Roxy Clash of The Groms Finale event.

With an entry level of 176 grom surfers in its first year over 7 divisions, the Clash of The Groms series seems set to become an important training ground for emerging young talents throughout the UK looking to climb the ranks of the UK’s Pro Surf Tour & whispers are already abound of further possible stops being negotiated for 2018, so keep an eye out for those super light, tiny sticks flying around your local break, they could well be the tool of choice for our up-coming, future champions.

Nerf Clash of The Groms 2017 Series Winners:

Under 12 Open Champion 2017 Winner: Eli Perrins-Davies

Under 14 Girls Champion 2017 Winner: Alys Barton

Under 14 Boys Champion 2017 Winner: Sam Hearn

Under 16 Girls Champion 2017 Winner: Alys Barton

Under 16 Boys Champion 2017 Winner: Noah Capps

Under 18 Girls Champion 2017 Winner Mischa Maguire

Fistral Beach Under 18 Boys 2017 Winner: Patrick Langdon Dark

Image: Patrick Langdon-Dark Ph Andy Holter

UK Pro Surf Tour Sponsored By