First Ever Welsh Adaptive Championships Attracts International Field

Tuesday, 9 July 2019

Last weekend saw the first ever Welsh Adaptive Surfing Championships take place at Adventure Parc Wales. The brain child of local Welsh surfer Llywelyn Williams (with help from step mum Elissa Williams and his fiancé Sarah), the competition was backed by local company Abersoch Land and Sea and attracted surfers from 13 countries including Hawaii, Australia, USA and South Africa. “I was at the US Open Adaptive Surfing Championships last year and asked the guys to write down their names if they would come over to Wales for a similar comp. Over 40 of the competitors put their names down!” said Llywelyn.

Water safety was provided by Surfability with local volunteers including local RNLI Crew member Ifan Roberts, with Mitchell Skinner running the waterside marshals. In addition to the surfing, there was an onsite physiotherapist (Rebecca Crawford), music, accommodation, and food provided by Adventure Parc Snowdonia. “The beauty of the event was that there was everything we needed on site for the entire event, and it was accessible as well.” said organiser Elissa Williams. “All the feedback we have had from the judges, contributors and Adventure Parc Snowdonia has had the same theme – how happy everyone competing was at the event” she added.

A number of the competitors had come straight from a similar event in Hawaii, then to the English Adaptive Surfing Championships in Cornwall and then up to Snowdonia for this event. Next week they continue their world tour with a stop in Bilbao, Spain.

The atmosphere was fantastic, everyone was humbled and excited to be involved in such a ground-breaking event for the adaptive sport. “I don’t think I’ve ever been to an event where everyone is so happy, even the guys who came last” said Lee Bartlett, compare for the event.

Llywelyn’s vision for the event was to bring together the world’s top adaptive surfers to the perfect controlled environment, and he achieved this perfectly with the surfing being the real star of the show. Plans are already underway for next year’s event!

AS 1
1st Robson Gasperi
2nd Benoit Moreau
3rd Jan Povazan
4th Darian Haynes

AS 2
1st Mark Mono Stuart
2nd Llywelyn Williams
3rd Masafumi Kobayashi
4th Maxime Cabanne

AS 4
1st Bruno Hansen
2nd Mike Pingatore
3rd Ethan Jolosa
4th Mickey Scott